1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Please help

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by hebbiegurl, Jun 30, 2016.

1. hebbiegurl

hebbiegurl New Egg

Jun 30, 2016
    I am new to BYC but I have referred to it for answers before, it's a great place for us Chicken Lovers, Thank you all
    I have a 5-6 yr road island red who is wobbly and can not stand or hold her weight, she is eating but only if I feed her
    Her Comb is pale also, after 5-7 days I had to put her down she was getting worse
    Now I have another hen doing the exact same thing I have never had any problems befor I have never wormed, had no need to, I'm thinking coccidiosis, but all my other girls 30 are fine
    Someone said merks but she's not parolized she can move her wings and legs
    I can not figure it out.
    [​IMG]I can't watch her fight and loose again

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Is it hot where you live? Make sure that she is getting plenty of fluids, and add some electrolytes to the water. It certainly won't hurt to treat for coccidiosis with some Corid in the water, but a local vet could look at a few fresh droppings, and tell you if there was cocci or worms. Valbazen is very good for worming--1/2 ml given orally, and repeat in 10 days.

3. hebbiegurl

hebbiegurl New Egg

Jun 30, 2016
    Hello, Thank you , I have been giving electrolytes and Vits, I just started the Corid and Worm med, Wezin, Uh, I just wish she could talk to me.....I did the same for my other hen this happen to except I'm doing Corid this time, Please pray for her, Its so upsetting
    If anyone else has had anything like this, Please I would love to hear your opinion
    God Bless My Fettered Friend.

4. Eggcessive