Please help!!!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by blue eyes 2011, Jul 7, 2011.

1. blue eyes 2011

blue eyes 2011 New Egg

Jul 7, 2011
    Hello, This is my first time on this site so please bare with me. We have 4 chickens no roosters that are 14 weeks old. This morning when we went to tend them we found 2 with injury's to their backs rite above their tail feathers, looks like pecking damage,feathers are gone , blood,ect.. looks bad..Then before we could remove them thy all were pecking at the damage area including her self. They were fine last night when we tended them. What could have caused this to happen? What should be done? Please help....Thanks

2. nobodyherebutuschickens

nobodyherebutuschickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 20, 2010
    Erie, Colorado
    Could a predator of some kind have gotten to them? Or is this chicken-inflicted?

3. Mark & Nique

Mark & Nique Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2010
    South Carolina
    It could be the establishing of pecking order. Remove the injured chicken (--what is its breed?) Next, watch the behavior of the flock.

4. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Hello! Welcome from Ohio! I am so sorry, this kind of stuff is really upsetting when you're new with chickens. Not sure if you'll ever know what happened, but I'm thinking maybe a predator, possibly a raccoon may have grabbed them, pulling out their feathers causing blood. Then, chickens are very attracted to blood, so they will naturally peck at it. Sometimes chickens even do this pecking and feather pulling to eachother.

Here's what I would do: First, check each chicken for any signs of parasites (that might be a reason they would peck themselves or eachother). Then, really look around your coop and run to see if there is any place where a predator could get at them.......Or any signs of a predator maybe chewing on the chicken wire or trying to get in.