please help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by kingstonchooks, Dec 30, 2013.

1. kingstonchooks

kingstonchooks New Egg

Dec 30, 2013
    I am new to poultry keeping,about 6 months. Have 2 cocks and six hens.I am after some advice regarding two of the hens. I will start with the silkie. We picked her up with pretty bad scaly leg, we have bathed her legs in surgical spirit and brushed away old scale and debris as best as possible. I have then coated in sudocrem. Problem is she has thick chalk like substance on her legs (I believe this is the mite poop) and I am wondering can I remove it or will it fall off? Secondly I have a gold laced bearded polish hen who has the odd sneeze, but no other syptoms od disease or illness. I put cider vinegar in their water, should I be concerned? Thanks

2. Shan30

Shan30 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 17, 2012
    Vancouver island

I wouldn't be too worried about the occasional sneeze from just one bird. It's probably an allergy but just keep an eye out for any changes.

As for the one with leg mites, any chance we could see a picture?
    We have always treated leg mites with nu-stock or sulphur mixed into an oil and rubbed on the legs but have never had it bad enough to see anything more than dry lifted scales.

3. kingstonchooks

kingstonchooks New Egg

Dec 30, 2013
    Okay, will keep an eye out for changes on our polish girl. As for the scaly leg will try get a pic uploaded now.

4. Suzie

Suzie Overrun With Chickens

Jul 9, 2009
    Auvergne
    I have never used surgical spirit..the smell alone is bad enough...!