1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

please look at my hen's eyes and tell me what you think

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Titania, Jul 22, 2011.

1. Titania

Titania Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2010
    Oklahoma City
    So I'm new to chickening (only over a year with chickens) and have to find out everything through experience, I guess. My little mille fleur d'uccle hen, Miette, has something different going on with her eyes. It could be nothing and just how she's made genetically. But, either way, there is a fluid sack that fluctuates in size (larger with the heat, smaller in the evenings) near the corner of her eye. Sometimes I've seen bubbles inside the fluid sac. I don't know what to think. Is she sick? Is it some rare spongy-tissue tumor (a friend who's a professor of biology mentioned something about that)? I'd appreciate your thoughts & suggestions.

This is her left eye
    [​IMG]

And this is her right eye
    [​IMG]

Some days they're barely noticeable and somedays they're large like today when I took this picture. What do you think? No symptoms other than panting from this heat. Thanks!

I'm adding a picture of her hatchmate cockerel, Charlemagne. It's not a close up of his eye, but you can tell that it doesn't droop in the corners like hers does.
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  2. AngelzFyre

AngelzFyre Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2007
    Pell City, Alabama
    It looks a lot like conjunctivitis and you can try washing them out with an eye wash(usually available from drugstore or Walmart), and then using an antibacterial opthalmic ointment without steroid 2 to 3 times daily for at least 10 days and seeing if that helps. Terramycin is a good one as is Triple Antibiotic Opthalmic.