PLEASE READ - Anyone who has dealt with infected eyes in a duckling - RICHMOND, VA area waterfowl ow

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by chickengirl15, Mar 27, 2012.

1. chickengirl15

chickengirl15 New Egg

Mar 24, 2012
    I have a one week old peking duckling whose right eye is sealed shut and QUITE infected, I need a veterinarian in the Richmond VA area asap who can practice on waterfowl but the closest I can find is in Yorktown!! I've had her for 3-4 days and now she is starting to feel like she is feverish and warm. I need to know where I can take her for medical attention and what I can do in the mean time to try and help keep her going. I took her home from the Southern States where I work, I do not know the source of the infected eye. I have been doing warm compresses and putting a topical antibacterial in both eyes. Please, anything will help! I have NO experience with ducks.

2. chickengirl15

chickengirl15 New Egg

Mar 24, 2012
    Also, what antibiotics can ducks have and not have? I know they're not all the same as my chickens, I just don't know what the difference is.

3. 70%cocoa

70%cocoa Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2011
    Canberra, Australia
    Go to a pharmacy and get some antibiotic eye ointment or eye drops that are for conjunctivitis in humans. Use this on your duck - do both eyes even if one seems ok (since the infection will probably spread if you don't). I've bought a product called Chlorsig to successfully treat a drake with an eye infection. I gave it to him twice or three times a day for about four to five days. I used eye drops. Don't touch the tip of the bottle to the duck or you will introduce the bacteria to the bottle and ruin the medication.

First I'd use a saline solution to clean the eye up. Use a teaspoon of salt in some just-warm water and try to clean up the eye with it using a q-tip or very very small soft paint brush or a Kleenex.