Please read this. I have sick chickens...

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Oegipus, Dec 13, 2009.

1. Oegipus

Oegipus Out Of The Brooder

Nov 30, 2009
    Hi everyone.

I'm pretty new to this, and this is my first post.

I have a light Brahma with an eye that's been puffy and swollen for a month or so. I've been observing her, and the eye itself has been gone for a while. The others peck at the lid, and prolong it's healing process. I'm hesitant to give antibiotics, and figured it would work itself out, and that she'll be fine with one eye. Maybe someone can suggest a treatment or plan? I'm not negligent. It wasn't from sickness, I'm almost sure. I think her eye was hurt in transit to my house.

The other hen is an Americana, and she had a watery eye. The next day, her face was swollen, and she had crust around her beak. No smell.
    The rooster had a watery eye too. I put the whole lot(7) on antibiotics (oxytetracycline), and the rooster got better. The Americana (rose) is not really getting better or worse. It's been five days or so. I have photos. these links should be good:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/gael_mckeon/4182071370/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/gael_mckeon/4181307663/

They both live in a tractor that I built. It's ventilated and insulated. It's dry. They have straw bedding. they free range in the day time. The Americauna has mushy poop. They are both young, just on the verge of laying, but not yet. working on their combs.
    Not sure how much they weigh. I think the Brahma is a bit light, though.

Thank you.

2. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

3. PandoraTaylor

PandoraTaylor RT Poultry n Things

Jun 29, 2009
    Alaska