PLEASE REPLY ASAP AND HELP ME!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by akiye, Mar 25, 2015.

1. akiye

akiye New Egg

Mar 25, 2015
    Hi everyone,

First off, I would like to say that I found this baby chick in a box and it had been stepped on by other baby chicks. It is still breathing and beeping once a while. I noticed that it had some weird nasty stuff on its butt and I searched on here and they said most likely it's pasty butt. So my cousin and I cleaned it. The baby's eyes are closed and it won't stand up. It's still breathing and making noises. Its my first time taking care of a baby chick, I tried to dip its beak in water and it got a little bit but now it's just resting.. It won't open it's eyes and I'm really worried and scared. I hope it'll pull through. What else can I do for it? I don't have a brooder or a temperature lamp. I have it in a shoe box with a really soft warm blanket and thats it. Please help me save the baby!

2. akiye

akiye New Egg

Mar 25, 2015
    It looks like this and it won't make any beeping anymore [​IMG] [​IMG]
    but its still breathing......

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    The chick won't survive unless you get it under a heat lamp, with a thermometer on the floor reading between 90-95 degrees F. The lamp should 18 inches above the chick, and red heat lamps work best at first. Where did you get the chick, from a feed store or from a friend? The chick may need electrolytes given to it, so did it's beak as often as you can, and SaveAChick is a good brand to use that can be added to the water.

4. Suzie

Suzie Overrun With Chickens

Jul 9, 2009
    Auvergne
    This may sound crazy...but if you do not have a heat lamp you can use your oven in the home...you will need a thermometer to ensure that the temperature is OK....I did this once for one of mine and it survived...I called it Samsung...after the name of my oven

5. cmlew99