Please share your experience with broody raising chick(s)

buckabucka

Crowing
14 Years
Jan 13, 2010
Fairfield, Maine
My Coop
My Coop
This is my first time with a broody, and she has only one chick she is raising. How long does the mama hen take a role in raising the chick?

Here is my issue: I have other chicks the same age as this one in a brooder, which I will be integrating with the rest of the flock when they are about 16 weeks old. I would like to put the lone chick in with the others that are her age at some point. I had planned to let mama integrate the single chick into the flock, but despite the mama's best efforts to defend it, the chick was injured by another hen and I am keeping them separate for now. At some point, does the mama hen leave the chick on it's own, or will she be sticking by it's side for many, many weeks? I can't figure out how I will blend them all into the same flock.

I appreciate any advice!

Hi,
first answer:
my broody hen told her brood to leave her alone when they were 6 weeks old.

Second answer:

I had 2 older hens and they took months to accept new chickens into the fold.
Older chickens see any new chickens as intruders and will peck it to death if given the oppurtunity, expecially if they are very young.
The older the new chickens are, and the more they have got used to each other, say from the other side of a wire fence, then it is sometimes just to establish pecking order.
I managed to integrate younger chicks to older chicks but the age difference was not that great at the time, about a few months.
I also bred 3 separate batches of chicks within weeks of each other, and gradually put them together for a few mins at a time to let them get to know each other before finally integrating them completely.

I have also got a broody with young chicks and chicks hatched in an incubator and I am currently in the process of putting them under the broody at dead of night for her to continue with the upbringing.