Please take a look at my chickens....WHAT CAN I DO???

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Titania, Jul 26, 2011.

1. Titania

Titania Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2010
    Oklahoma City
    I've only been doing backyard chickens for a year so I'm pretty new at this. I don't know what's serious or what's not serious.

I posted about this pullet's eye a few days ago. (Miette) Here are pics of the eye of more than a week ago:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

and here are pics that I just barely took:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

so, it's getting worse in that it's getting more swollen. But there's no drainage, no discharge, no redness, no blood, no whiteness, no discharge from her nose, no signs of a flu or cold...it's been the same for weeks and weeks. Is this really conjunctivitis? The only thing is a coughing/gagging sound (but it is 100+ and they are sooo hot and thirsty all the time) and an occasional sneeze. I'm leaving out of the country for a week tomorrow and I am so screwed with this.

Also, my other chicken Rosie, can't walk on her right foot. No signs of injury, no bumble foot, no redness or swelling anywhere on the leg shank. I turned her upside down and moved each of her legs and they seem to move fine and I couldn't feel any warmth or anything "loose" or "stiff". She's not acting like herself.

Here is a video I took. Sorry it's so long! I should have edited it and cut out stuff. Like I said, I'm leaving tomorrow for 10 days (!!!!!) Am I coming back to a flock of dead chickens? What could be wrong with them? What can I do for them?

Thank you for looking and I really appreciate your advice & help!

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop