Pls help! First time incubating eggs in hova bator!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Orly29, Apr 2, 2009.

1. Orly29

Orly29 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 2, 2009
    As the subject line states, this is my first time incubating eggs and I am stressing out as I don't think my temp is correct for the bantam araucana eggs I have started to incubate. Humidity is currently at 55% which seems to be good according to everything I have read, but my temp has fluctuated somewhat and I placed the eggs in the bator on 03/30/2009. The temp as fluctuated from 94-99 degrees on diff days w the increasing change staying constant ea day that passes. Temp currently reading 99.1 degrees and holding. Do I still have a chance I hatching my eggs out or did the fluctuation in temp totally put a damper on my incubation project? I would definitely appreciate any and all feedback/help!

Thanks everyone!

2. 1mommahen

1mommahen Love My Cluckin' Coop

Mar 20, 2008
    NJ
    94 degrees is pretty low, it just might slow the hatch by a day or so. I keep my humidity 35-40% and up to 55 to 60% for the last three days.

Good luck:fl

3. chilling in muscadine

chilling in muscadine { I love being disfunctual }

Jun 8, 2008
    muscadine, al.
    As long as the temps stay up now you should be good. The eggs will just hatch a little later on. Do you have forced or still air? With forced air the temps need to be 100 degrees and still air they should be 102 degrees. Do drop your humitity though.

4. Orly29

Orly29 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 2, 2009
    I know this sounds dumb, but I'm not sure if it's still air or forced...doesn't have a fan in it if that helps at all.

5. Intheswamp

Intheswamp Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2009
    South Alabama
    Without a fan would make it a "still air". If you can find a small computer fan and wire it in the incubator to "stir" the air up it would help things, but there has been probably millions of chicks hatched without a fan.