Polish pullets or roos?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Chickhick, May 13, 2010.

1. Chickhick

Chickhick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2010
    North Alabama
    These Polish are 7 weeks old. The 3 have so very different crests. My guess is pullet for the WCB, roo for the 2-tone (gold laced?) and I used to think roo for the solid black because he never had the globular crest, but now I'm thinking pullet. What do you think?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Streakhooch

Streakhooch Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2010
    I am no expert what so ever b/c I am new to the Polish breed, but I would say Pullet for both black ones and then Roo for the 2-toned gold laced. Very beautiful I must say. My 2 are really light colored. Did your 2-toned grow the topknot faster. I have 1 that seems to be growing faster then the other both being 3weeks old. I was told both girls but I am think 1 of each.

3. RachelFromTheBlackLagoon

RachelFromTheBlackLagoon Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Wallingford, CT
    The black and white is a Mottled Houdan and it looks like a pullet. The gold laced looks like a cockerel to me, but I have z buff laced pullet (confirmed) with a wacky crest, so only time will tell! The solid black one doesn't look pure polish to me. Maybe a Crevacoeur? Where did you get these guys?

Last edited: May 13, 2010
  4. LarryPQ

LarryPQ Easter Hatch!!

Jul 17, 2009
    Pullet
    Roo (maybe, my hatchery stock were spikey up until they laid)
    Pullet

5. Chickhick

Apr 17, 2010
    North Alabama
    They are just some I picked up in Tractor Supply. They were in a bin labeled "assorted bantams." Can Mottled Houdans be bantam and have only 4 toes instead of 5 on each foot? How about Crevecoeurs being bantam? They are really small compared to my standard chicks, so I don't think they were accidentally put in the wrong bin.