Polish Rooster with Swollen, Watery Eye *UPDATE* New Symptoms!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Sukiyaki, Nov 29, 2008.

1. Sukiyaki

Sukiyaki Out Of The Brooder

Oct 19, 2008
    Houston Area, Texas
    The chicken is (we think) a male of about 10 weeks old. For the past few days he's had this nasty swollen eye and I'm not sure what to do or how to treat it.

[​IMG] (Piper the Gold Roo)

I'm very new to chickens, any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

UPDATE: His feathers have gotten dirty and ratty looking lately while all of the other, healthy chickens are still clean and shiney. I guess this is a symptom...?

Last edited: Nov 30, 2008
  2. SweetMissDaisy

SweetMissDaisy Chillin' With My Peeps

Do any of your other chickens show signs of dry or wet pox? I'm currently dealing with both dry and wet pox here, and this may be a wet pox symptom.

While it seems that each chicken seems to be showing different symptoms of the pox, some of mine have had wet eyes, and even keep their eye closed, some with swelling. All of them have recovered fully with treatment of FishZole (see below).

Dry Pox: 250mg of FishZole per gallon of water for 3-5 days (same with watery/bubbly eye)

Wet Pox: increase fishzole/water ratio to 250mg/quart; if showing yellow plaque on tongue, mouth or windpipe, ask vet for Azithromycin ASAP - depending on the size of bird, 1-1.5cc once daily for 10-15 days. I gave two doses on day 1 for a boost, 8 hours apart.

I just went through this with one of my polish hens. Lots more about my successful (YAY!) treatment here on Homesteading Today at: http://homesteadingtoday.com/showthread.php?t=277632

3. Sukiyaki

Oct 19, 2008
    Houston Area, Texas
    My other chickens are perfectly healthy so I don't think it's contagious. He doesn't seem to be getting too worse, but his feathers are all nasty. I hope I won't have to cull him. [​IMG]

4. ruth

ruth Life is a Journey

Jul 8, 2007
    Woodville, MS