Polytonine A in meat chicks' water?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by BYCforlife, Mar 20, 2017.

1. BYCforlife

BYCforlife Overrun With Chickens

I heard that I am supposed to put polytonine A in chicks' water, because sometimes they forget to eat and they need vitamins in their water in case of that. Is this true?

2. KikisGirls

KikisGirls Be Happy! Read more. Premium Member

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    Some people do put chick vitamins in their water for the first few days.

I am not sure what polytonine is.

3. BYCforlife

I am not very experienced, but I think polytonine is a vitamin mix.
    Again, I just heard this, I haven't looked in to it much. Thanks!

4. KikisGirls

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
  5. KikisGirls

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    How old are your chicks?
    Do they seem like they are in good health or are you thinking you need to add vitamins because they are falling ill?

6. KikisGirls

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    Too much of a good thing can be just as bad as not enough of a good thing...you know?
    I did give my day old chicks, chick vitamins for the first 2 days...only.

7. BYCforlife

I'm sorry, I may have not made this clear enough. I do that alot. I don't have them yet, and this is my first time so I am reading as much as I can about them, and I was wondering about vitamins in water. Thanks for the link!

8. KikisGirls

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    Oh ok...
    In that case you may really want to look into fermenting their feed.
    Many many good benefits...including vitamins!

https://tikktok.wordpress.com/2014/04/13/fermented-feed-faq/
    1) Superior nutrition
    Fermenting creates new vitamins; specifically B vitamins, and new nutrients. Some of those nutrients are amino acids. The soaking and fermenting also breaks down the anti-nutrients and toxins in the grains that prevent the digestion of available nutrients.
    http://www.fao.org/docrep/x2184e/x2184e06.htm

Quote: