Poo stuck on rear after feed store changed feed

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Krist, Jan 26, 2015.

1. Krist

Krist New Egg

Mar 22, 2014
    Our feed store had several complaints about the feed brand they were carried for years so with the new year they droped the company and now we have new scratch and layer pellets making for a mess on everyone's rear. For the most part of the 9 chickens all but 3 have cleared up. I have wormed everyone that was my complaint with the pellets came maggots in December I took it back and got new. Should I do anything else I'm new to all this.

Also my egg production went from 6-7 a day to 2-4 I thought maybe just winter time but others around here weren't getting that many eggs before. I'm a newbee so not sure thought I would throw it out there. Thanks in advance

2. MrsBrooke

MrsBrooke Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2014
    Magnolia, Texas
    Check the protein. A laying hen needs 15-19% protein in their feed.

What type is it? Layer ration... Chick starter... Grower/Developer...?

Chickens can be sensitive to changes in their diet. To change their feed, I'd encourage mixing their feed... 3/4 regular, 1/4 new. Then start increasing the ratio of regular feed to new feed... You'll eventually phase the other right out without upsetting your flock too much.

Really, though, I wouldn't worry about the decrease in egg production, unless it's cased by something ELSE other than switching their feed.

Did I read correctly that you found MAGGOTS in some of their feed??? I don't know about you, but I might switch stores and brands completely. [​IMG]

If your flock is getting rancid feed, that could definitely be an issue. Diarrhea and digestive issues (as well as some neuropathies due to mold) can occur if chickens eat moldy/rancid feed.

Is anyone acting fluffed and lethargic, have a weird-feeling crop, or having weird poops?

Let us know of any new symptoms.

MrsB

3. Krist

Krist New Egg