1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Poop Board Wire Mesh Sifter "basket" UNDER Sweet PDZ or Stall Dry that can be lifted out...hmmmmmmm?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by mamabear72, Mar 8, 2014.

1. mamabear72

mamabear72 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 7, 2014
    Northern Nevada
    Hello there,
    I'm BRAND new to chickens, just got our first four little fuzzy butts yesterday [​IMG]
    I've been reading posts non stop and absolutely LOVE all the ideas here!

I like the idea of using a poo board with a layer of Sweet PDZ that can be sifted every morning.
    I have an idea but thought I'd ask for advice here first because well...basically I don't know what the heck I'm doing.

What if I made a wire mesh "basket" (the size of the poop board) with one inch sides that slips down into the poop box then the Sweet PDZ (or Stall Dry, whatever I can find in my area) can be poured OVER it. Instead of sifting every morning with a kitty litter type thingy, I simply pull up the mesh wire sifter, using the handles that I've yet to figure out...then dumping the poo into a compost bin.
    Do you think I could push/wiggle my sifter basket back down into the Sweet PDZ to catch the next days poopies?

Am I nutty and completely overthinking this whole thing? Be honest with me, I can handle it.
    I'm also one of those crazy chicks that plans on painting their coop a pretty little color and adding cute little decorations on the outside, ha ha.

Thank you in advance,
    Kristen & Family

2. foreverlearning

foreverlearning Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2013