Poop is white and runny??

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by senorita05, Jan 2, 2014.

1. senorita05

senorita05 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 29, 2013
    Hello
    I'm new to raising chickens. I have one hen and one rooster. The last couple of days I have noticed that my hen's poop is white and runny. She is eating properly and continues to be friendly and curious and still growing. I don't think I have ever recalled her pooping like that and I have her for about 5-6 months (she is between 6-7 months). However she does spend all her time outside so I don't watch over her all the time. I just wanted to know is this normal? What's causing her to body to do that? And how can I treat it if I need to?
    Thank you.
    I really appreciate people's input

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
  3. senorita05

Dec 29, 2013
    It has been really hot as of late so I have been giving her extra water but she would drink a little bit then go away to explore. Also as of late she has been wanting to go sit in the coop instead of wanting to play outside like she normally does. I just assumed that it was because she was getting ready to lay eggs. I looked at the chart and I think its either egg yolk peritonitis or roundworm infestation. I'm leaning more towards the roundworm infestation because she has not started laying eggs yet. However I have not seen any worms in her poop. Is there any way that this can be confirmed? The local vet has little knowledge of birds. She lives with a rooster and 2 quails, do they need to be treated too?

4. TheChips

TheChips Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2013
    Thats a really help link you posted there! I bookmarked it.

5. Eggcessive

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio