poop toes???

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by spell, Jul 5, 2010.

1. spell

spell Out Of The Brooder

Jul 5, 2010
    My family has rescued 5 hens and a rooster from a not so suitable environment. They are safe and hopefully happy now but my question is this...
    Some of them have grayish ball like formations on some of their toes. They seem to walk, scratch, eat and drink just fine. They really do not seem bothered. Someone told be that it could be from walking in their own poop for extended periods. (they now have a beautifully clean coop and lots of grassy run). I have searched online only to find nothing.
    I would like to clean them up if possible and I am wondering if it is hurting them....
    I am very new to keeping chickens any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. 77horses

77horses ◊The Spontaneous Pullet!◊

Aug 19, 2008
    [CONFIDENTIAL]
    My opinion is that it's either bumblefoot or from walking in their own droppings for so long. [​IMG] Maybe you could try gently soaking their feet in warm, clean water to see if it softens up the hard stuff on their feet. If it is poop, then it will probably eventually come off with lots of soaking. Right now it's caked on and really hard, so it won't come off easy until it's soaked and softened. I would say soak their feet in warm water for a good amount of time each day and see if that helps...And that's so nice that you saved those poor hens from the horrible environment they were in. [​IMG]
    Good luck! [​IMG]

3. spell

spell Out Of The Brooder

Jul 5, 2010
    thanks!
    from what i've seen, it's NOT bumblefoot. no sores and not on the sole of the foot....
    it looks a bit like caked on poop balls attached to the toenails. you can actually hear them when they walk on the ramp leading out of the coop. i will try the soaking once they have settled in and are a little more at ease.