Poor baby ducks ;(

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by BarredRockGirls, Mar 14, 2013.

1. BarredRockGirls

BarredRockGirls Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 6, 2013
    Ohio
    [​IMG]

I'm new to ducks n all BUT I'm not stupid ok lol
    My son and I walked into our local TSC to get some stuff for our chicks and see if they had any Pekins ...
    ^ that is what I found. Shivering lil mallards completely soaked , barely moving around, u can see the heat lamp wasn't even pointed down into the tub an the bedding is beyond in need of a change. They also had no food. What is in their feeder is pine shavings and dust. .
    I was appalled! It took me 15 mins to find anyone and when I did I tried to explain how this wasn't right .. I was told they were fine or " fine I guess the just can't have food and water " I calmly stated nooo and explained the heat light issue . The guy who OBVIOUSLY had better things to do grumbled stuff I didn't make out. But fixed it then disappears. I thought he was going to fill their food . No.
    SO I DID! Omg! What is wrong w ppl! I sat there watching them . They started to dry out and perk up after 20 mins and all but the other employees acted all annoyed that I was watching them. - the ducks.
    Why have animals in your store if your not or don't know how to take care of them . ? Poor things!
    I finally had to leave .. The bedding never did get changed but atleast they were warm when I left .

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Good for you, this is why I avoid TSC during "chick days" they got ducklings in early this year and I did not know and went for dog food, Just about the same as you described, poor babies had no food, I did flag someone down and ask about why they didn't have food and they did fill up the feeder. [​IMG] I will not go back till it's all over. too heart breaking.

Last edited: Mar 14, 2013
  3. BarredRockGirls

Mar 6, 2013
    Ohio