Poorly Chicken - please help

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by vinda, Oct 8, 2015.

1. vinda

vinda Out Of The Brooder

Jun 4, 2014
    Hi everyone. One of my little bantams is poorly and I'm not 100% sure the vets diagnosis was right. Any advice would be really appreciated :)

So a week ago she stopped going in the coop at night. I thought she maybe injured herself so I lifted her in and out for a few nights and she ate and drank normally. A couple days layer she was lying on her side and couldn't get up and I noticed she was limping and a bit lopsided. I brought her inside and checked her legs, seemed fine (not that I'm an expert) her crop was really swollen and warm which panicked me so took her to vet next day. Her crop was normal again next day, vet said it sounded like she had rattling in her chest and had lost a lot of weight so prescribed medication for a chest. When I mentioned I was worried about her crop and asked also if worms could be the cause of the weight loss he said let's just treat her for everything to be sure (which made me feel like he wasn't sure what to treat her for)

She's eating and drinking fine but is still limping, lopsided and doesn't want to move far. My question is could a chest infection really cause these issues walking? I have no doubt she had a chest infection as she was breathing funnily but would that cause limping? I'm really worried we're missing what's really wrong with her :(

X

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Sometimes if the crop isn't functioning well they can sound a bit rattly at times. Dose she have any nasal drainage or watery eyes, or any sneezing? How old is she? Was she vaccinated for Mareks disease, a virus that can cause lameness and problems with balance and walking? A slow crop can be common in sick birds.

3. vinda

vinda Out Of The Brooder

Jun 4, 2014