Portable Run Advice?

Crusty McPottydoodle

Crowing
14 Years
Mar 14, 2009
The Wet Coast
Hi there,

As you can see from my post count, I am new to BYC, although I have been lurking for a number of weeks now.

I live in Vancouver where we have coyotes, raccoons, eagles and skunks. My backyard should be coyote-proof (it is fenced for my dog), but smaller skunks could possibly get through the gaps in the fence boards and of course, raccoons can get into my yard with no trouble - I have seen them walking along the top of my fence.

After much research, I have pretty much nailed down our coop design to something close to:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=9413

The main modification would be hardware cloth on the bottom of the run.

Firstly, I would like to know whether you think this set up will be predator-proof.

Secondly, I would like to set up a portable run that is easily moved within the yard to make it as close to free-ranging as possible given the limitations. I was thinking of using portable dog exercise pen panels for the sides and top - something like this:

Exercise-Pen.jpg

I work at home, so they would be semi-supervised whilst in the portable pen. Do you think this would work, or should I come up with plan B?

Thanks,
Cheryl

welcome-byc.gif

I would search for another alternative to the exercise pen. The pet playpen is a good idea if you can figure out a way to put a top on it. Sounds like you are in a predator prone area, so it would be rather easy for something to swoop in and grab a bird. Give me a second and I'll post a pic of the exercise pen we got at WalMart that was rather affordable and much more secure. Especially from hawks. Its about 4x5 and only about 3 or 4 feet high.

DSC00077.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Quote:
Hi, welcome to BYC!
smile.png