Possible Egg Eater

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by chainedspider, Aug 7, 2014.

1. chainedspider

chainedspider Out Of The Brooder

Apr 7, 2013
    Hi,

I'm new to raising chickens and I think I may have an egg eater. My brood consists of 6 2 yr old hens (Brahma) that I bought from a breeder over a month ago (she was thinning her flock). These 6 hens have been laying since the day I got them, an average of 0-5 eggs a day. The rest of my brood consists of 8 young chicks, born from a breeder the beginning of May. 4 of these are Appenzeller's and 4 are Ancona. The chicks tend to stay clear of the 6 adults.

Today I came home to find an egg sitting at the top of the ramp leading up to one of the nesting boxes. Normally the eggs are deeper in the nesting box but I thought maybe one of the hens accidentally kicked it when she went to lay (there was actually a hen in the box when I got there). When I picked up the egg, there was a big hole in one end and the shell was completely empty. There was no remnants of the egg's contents anywhere on the ramp or in the nesting box (the hen inside actually got up and turned around while I was there, so I checked).

Any thoughts or suggestions? With 14 chickens, I don't know if it's one of the egg layers or one of the chicks.

Thanks

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    There is a nice article in the Leaning Center on dealing with egg eaters and things you can do to help prevent it. https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/six-tips-on-breaking-your-egg-eater Make sure your nesting boxes are deep enough/ have enough of a lip in front to keep the eggs in as much as possible, so you don't wind up with broken floor eggs.

One thing though, if you have crows/ ravens where you are and they can get in the coop they will sometimes steal and eat eggs, so will some other animals.

3. MeghanChickLady

MeghanChickLady Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2014