Possible lite frost.

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by flyin-lowe, May 6, 2017.

1. flyin-lowe

flyin-lowe Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2016
    Indiana
    First off I am a newbie to gardening (2nd year) so still learning the ropes.
    A couple weeks ago we were in the middle of a warm spell and when I checked the extended forecast they were calling for warmer then average temps. Coaching baseball and work have a lot of my time this spring so I decided to put my garden out a little earlier then I should have. This week we had a cold front sit on top of us with temps in the 40's and we got over 4 inches of rain.

So far everything I have out looks good except for a couple of jalapeno plants I have out (I have since read they need a little warmer weather) but oh well I only have four of them. So far I have potatoes that are about 6 inches tall, strawberries that are a couple inches tall, tomato plants that are about 4-5 inches (no buds yet) peppers, broccoli (about 2-3 inches tall) and cucumbers (2-3 inches tall). There is alight frost forecasted in the morning, right now they are calling for lows around 33 degrees. I assume the potatoes, broccoli, strawberries will all be fine but I don't know about cucumbers, tomatoes, and peppers (they are already suffering).

What steps if any should I take given what I have out and what stage they are in. The only thing I have that is budding are a few of the strawberry plants.

2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    Can you cover them with some blankets or sheets? or some plastic? If you have some milk jugs, those make great hot caps for tomatoes and peppers. I start saving milk jugs for that purpose every spring. And if I can save a bunch of them from the previous year (without hubby tossing them as he goes around on his cleaning missions), I'm well set up to keep those warm weather plants heated up until the spring chills settle down.

3. flyin-lowe

Jan 24, 2016
    Indiana