Possible prolapse, eggs shellless

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by forestrymom, Jun 12, 2011.

1. forestrymom

forestrymom Out Of The Brooder

Sep 11, 2010
    I'm not sure what's been going on. The past 3 days I've had shellless eggs in my next box, I suspect from one hen, as the other eggs have been fine with nice hard shells. Today, one of the hens has something hanging out of her. Here's a picture. I am VERY new to chickens.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 12, 2011
  2. Squishypuff

Squishypuff Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2011
    Kernersville, NC
    I can't tell what is going on from the photo, but a prolapse looks like a blob of red flesh hanging outside the vent- if that helps you any.

3. Erica

Erica Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 5, 2010
    Hi Forestrymom,

When pullets first come into lay, they will occasionally lay unusual eggs (such as soft shelled eggs). While it's not ideal, if it only happens a few times it's probably not a big problem and should settle on its own. [​IMG]

However if it happens continuously then something is wrong. Eggs with soft shells are much harder for the bird to pass than normal eggs, and they often break inside the bird. Once an egg has broken inside, infection is a real possibility. It might be a good idea to examine the bird up close to see if she has a yellowish, smelly discharge — that would indicate possible infection (and may need treatment).

Meanwhile there are some things you can do if it seems to be an ongoing problem. First is to adjust the diet to include more calcium (e.g. shell grit).