possible sick chick

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Bridgette1221, Apr 2, 2009.

1. Bridgette1221

Bridgette1221 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 29, 2009
    Ok so I'm new to this so.... I just got 2 silkies and 2 jungle ... 3 of them are very active but one is not so much.... its pecked around here and there but them it acts sleepy and is really wobbly. Is that normal? It has drank and peck at some food some...

2. Dawn419

Dawn419 Lost in the Woods

Apr 16, 2007
    Evening Shade, AR
    You didn't mention how old/young they are but if they are just a few days old, it is pretty normal.

You've noticed it eating and drinking, which is a good thing. It can take a few days for some of them to figure out how to use their legs.

I just picked up 5 Silver Spangled Hamburg chicks yesterday (it's been about a year since I've dealt with young chicks) that are about 5 - 7 days old and have one that tends to sleep more than her sisters do but she's eating and drinking fine so I'm not really worried about her but do check on her often, just because. [​IMG]

I hope this is some help!

Dawn

3. TXmom

TXmom Chillin' With My Peeps

If they are very small, like my Silkie babies were, I found that I had to grind up their food smaller. I watched them eating, and noticed that they would pick up the starter crumbles and then drop them. I put the crumbles in my Magic Bullet (little blender) and ground them much smaller (not quite powder)...after that they ate a lot more and had more energy. I also put Vi-tal vitamin/electrolyte powder in the water.

4. Farm Frenzy

Farm Frenzy Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2008
    Oak Hill, Florida
    Try giving it a little sugar water. It should perk right up. I would also try to crush it's food up smaller. Good luck!!![​IMG]

5. Bridgette1221

Mar 29, 2009