Possibly a molt, I hope

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Raven72ab, May 23, 2019.

1. Raven72ab

Raven72ab In the Brooder

May 17, 2019
    I have a cochin that is about 14 months old and we have noticed a lot of feathers we believe are hers in the coop area. We also don't think she is laying now. She seems to be acting ok she walks around and forages for bugs but just loosing a lot of feathers and no egg in several days maybe a week. She usually lays 2 days then skips a day. I'm somewhat new to the chicken game so any and all help is appreciated.

CityslickerHomestead likes this.
  2. coach723

coach723 Crowing

Feb 12, 2015
    North Florida
    Pictures of her would help, but it's not impossible that it is a molt. I have one bird molting now, her internal clock always starts her molt very early every single year. Look her over for any pinfeathers coming in, that would confirm a molt. They are usually most obvious around the head and neck, around the tail and under wings. I would check her over for lice/mites while you have her, just to be sure.

3. CityslickerHomestead

CityslickerHomestead Songster

Apr 5, 2019
    Montana
    Sounds like you described a typical molt. If her appetite changes and she’s not showing interest in eating, then I’d be worried.

Not all chickens molt in the same pattern, but usually it starts at the head and works it’s way down.

I’ve ready that now is a good time to provide more protein in the diet as new feathers require a lot of it.

Henriettamom919 likes this.
  4. Henriettamom919

Henriettamom919 Songster

May 1, 2019
    North of Seattle
    I'd check for signs of mites and barring that check for new feather growth. If you see new feathers developing start supplementing her protein by giving her a little scrambled egg during the molting or switching to a higher protein feed.

Apple cider vinegar is also a great overall health additive that can be added to her water.