possibly still eggbound!?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Caitlin342, Apr 4, 2011.

1. Caitlin342

Caitlin342 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 4, 2011
    Hi this is my first time posting here, I own eight chicken (7 hens, 1 rooster) and recently one of my bantam silkie chickens was egg bound (about 4 days ago). I did the hot water bath gave her yogurt and heated her up with a blow dryer (which she loved) and after about 8 hours of doing this on and off she laid a shriveled up leathery-type egg and was then able to have solid poop. I thought everything was good after, she acted a little funny the next night but I am starting to think it was just me being paranoid because ever since then she is pretty much running around like normal. My concern is that she has still not laid any eggs. I know that silkies, especially bantams, really don't lay many eggs but you would think if she passed an egg bound egg that another egg would come out within four or five days right? Another note: she was recently broody at the same time with a bantam araucana, and the aracauna has been back to laying pretty regularly (1 or 2 eggs per 3 days) for a few weeks now. I have felt the silkies abdomen and to me it seems to be a little bit large ( i am comparing to another silkie chicken that is broody right now so is a little thin just from being broody, darn silkies go broody after laying five or six eggs! lol). I am worried that maybe she still has eggs in there or she is becoming an internal layer and I'm wondering if anyone has any advice. She overall is acting normal it seems eating and drinking regularly. If anyone has any advice it would be greatly appreciated!!

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.