Predators and geese

Discussion in 'Geese' started by augustwest, May 18, 2011.

1. augustwest

augustwest Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 24, 2010
    North central mass
    I'm new to chickens and someone brought me a goose and 2 ducklings that they found wandering in a park. We lost one of the ducks, so we are down to one gosling and the duck. We have no idea what breed the duckling is, but we hopefully have a chinese or african gosling. I LOVE this little gosling... what a ham!

So, we've been looking for a home for them. But, I am in love. I don't think that the time is right for us, but down the road I think that a pair of geese might be fun.

We've lost lots of chickens to predators. Most recently a fox that was so bold she came into our garage to kill a pullet in the brooder- and then came back a few hours later and destroyed our run and killed 2 laying hens! Bad fox. We also have a hawk attack late last year- a pair of red tails- and they took 3 at one time. Very sad.

So, our run is totally revamped and we are much "safer" than before. We've decided that free ranging is asking for trouble, so we are confining the ladies 99% of the time (much to their dismay).

I'm looking for advice on keeping a pair of geese. I understand that they like to be free ranged, but do they stand a chance against a fox? What about a hawk?

This little gosling is bold as brass and nipped my little terrier on the nose this am. It was hysterical! He's very protective of "his" duck and calls her when she gets too far away. We have one chicken that is refusing to be caught and has been living in the rafters of our garage... the gosling gets all low and snake-necked around that chicken. He even pulled a tail feather out. So, I assume that penning the goose with the chickens is not a great idea?

Thanks for any advice....

2. goosedragon

goosedragon Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2009
    Central NC