1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Pregnant goat question

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by lexustami, Nov 4, 2007.

1. lexustami

lexustami Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 14, 2007
    St. Clairsville, OH
    Hello all,

I am still new to keeping goats and I think one of the nannies I got at an auction is pregnant. I have no idea how far along she is but her belly is getting bigger and bigger by the week.

Are there any signs that can indicate that she is getting close to giving birth? I would hate to be caught totally unprepared and have her with the other goats when she kids.

Thanks in advance.

Tami

2. helmstead

helmstead Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2007
    Alfordsville, IN
    Unfortunately with goats it is nearly impossible to tell. You can try to learn to feel for their tailhead ligaments while also checking their bag development and looking for mucos discharge from their vulvas.

I think the url to the best goat site in the world is www.fiascofarm.com , they have pictures of the ligament and just a bunch of great info for newbies.

Our nannies, even though we know the weeks they're bred, always surprise us. It's just good I'm a stay at home mom. I can hear them bellowing and rush out to help.

Also, bear in mind a healthy rumen makes a goat look preggers, too. Can you post pics?

3. LynnGrigg

LynnGrigg Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2007
    Winston Salem, NC
    Hi,