Pregnant goat questions

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by Sherry, Jun 23, 2008.

1. Sherry

Sherry Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2007
    Southern WV
    I have 2 pygmy goats due to kid around/after July 21. I've had them about a year now, and tried to get them to let me pet them, no luck. They won't come near me unless I have a handful of Teddy Grahams or some other goody. Any other time they run from me. I've sat very patiently and quietly in the pen sometimes for hours, nothing. So when the babies come, if I continue trying do you think they will become friendlier to me?

This is my first time for goats and I'm going to be nervous come "labor day". Heck, I'm nervous now. Is there anything special I need to do, or like cows, let nature do all the work? I'm torn between wanting to be there and wanting to walk out one morning, or come home from work one evening, and just finding baby goats. [​IMG]

2. helmstead

helmstead Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2007
    Alfordsville, IN
    Having kids isn't going to make them any tamer - and the fact that they're wild will make it very likely that their kids will be wild, too.

The best way we've found to tame the does we bought wild is to confine them to a very small area (no larger than 10x10) and hand feed them, groom them, etc. They can't run away, and eventually come around when they associate you with food and massages.

IMO You need to be there for the births. If something goes wrong (and things oft go wrong with minis) and you're not around, you'll have dead goats.

3. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    I agree with Kate. Lock them in a stall area with a small paddock if possible. Since you can't really handle them now as their birthing time approaches you might want to keep them in the stall or pen and not let them out. Hand feed them. Handle them. Brush them, scratch them, talk to them. They may never be super friendly.