pressure treated woos for coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Baxter's Chickens, Apr 8, 2011.

1. Baxter's Chickens

Baxter's Chickens In the Brooder

Apr 8, 2011
    Hi I am a newbie to this site. We have four 3week old chicks! So cute and fun. Our dog seems to like them too!
    So I do have a question; We are in the process of building the coop and run. Can we use pressure treated wood for part of the coop, run.
    Like for the posts? Will the chickens try to eat the wood?
    Thanks for your help Great site!![​IMG]

2. NormansGal44

NormansGal44 In the Brooder

Mar 30, 2011
    We are going to use pressure treated wherever the wood is in contact with the ground. I'm going to paint the non-pressure treated that I'll use up higher. I found that Lowe's online pricing for 2"x4"x8's is 1.97 vs 2 something in store (at least in SE TN). I may do it all pressure treated. We get so much rain here (55" average) that I can't use anything else near the ground.

I doubt they'll peck the wood unless they are really bored. There may be some chemical leach concerns but I don't think they would be that major.

I really want to put a rotted log in the middle of the coop for them to peck at.

Good luck!

3. Noymira

Noymira Songster

Mar 9, 2011
    Chittenden County, VT
    I'm using pressure treated, painted recycled wood for my run. I think it will last longer and it was free!

4. msudawgs56

msudawgs56 In the Brooder

Mar 26, 2011
    Grenada, Mississippi
    I'm using all Pressure treated lumber for mine.

5. elmo

elmo Songster

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    Chickens don't chew on wood the way parrots do, so it's fine to use pressure treated wood. I wouldn't use bare pressure treated wood for a perch, though, because so much contact with the chemicals in the wood could be an irritant to the surface of their feet.