Privett hatchery

Discussion in 'Chicken Breeders & Hatcheries' started by jchulsey, Mar 27, 2014.

1. jchulsey

jchulsey In the Brooder

Feb 23, 2014
    Alabama
    Does anybody know anything about the quality of the privett hatchery. I just ordered 25 from TSC. I ordered Dominiques. I am new to chickening and want to make sure I am getting birds from a quality source. Thanks!Does anybody know anything about the quality of the privett hatchery. I just ordered 25 from TSC. I ordered Dominiques. I am new to chickening and want to make sure I am getting birds from a quality source. Thanks!

2. Justy0

Justy0 Songster

Mar 28, 2014
    Hi. I have never ordered them myself, but I got my Ducklings from Del's Feed Store and they order all their birds from Privett, and as far as I have seen they are in good condition. Although there was one duckling who had passed away in the pen, but I think that's just part of the fact that baby birds are very sensitive, and like shipping any animal there is a chance small chance some wont make it.

3. spartanchick

spartanchick In the Brooder

I bought 16 last year from from our local farm store that received their's from Privett. They were supposed to be all pullets, but 6 ended up being roosters! Only 1 silkie passed away from unknown causes, the rest had been healthy. The bantam Cochins I gave away because they were really mean little suckers. So this year I ordered from Meyer Hatchery hoping to get better odds of hens instead of roosters. But other than that, their personalities are great, especially the Speckeled Sussex and EE we got, they are so friendly.

4. jchulsey

jchulsey In the Brooder

Feb 23, 2014
    Alabama