Probably the silliest question yet....

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by keyt1969, Aug 21, 2010.

1. keyt1969

keyt1969 Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm almost embarrassed to ask, but I'm fairly new to this chicken thing. Do chickens get colds or sore throats? haha

I ask because I have a Plymouth Rock that makes a funky sound and shakes her head like she's sneezing. She only started doing this a few days ago. I've never heard a chicken make that sound before, but I've also never had a PR. Is this normal??

Like I said, I feel silly for asking lol

2. sheaviance1

sheaviance1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2010
    Tennessee
    No reason to feel silly, the only dumb question is the one not asked. I have heard of a type of worm that can cause this, maybe a gapeworm, but i think it is also fairly normal for them to sneeze occasionally.

3. gacowgirl

gacowgirl New Egg

Jun 15, 2010
    Chickamauga
    We had a round of infectious bronchitis and the chooks all sneezed, had runny eyes and noses and felt BAD. We bought some chicks locally and brought the disease into our closed flock. Lost 90% of our birds, had one autopsied and both dewormed and treated flock with two different antibiotics. We discovered that the few survivors responded best to heavy doses of kelp and supplemental vitamins and minerals. Based on my experience, the birds' immune systems were faulty. With time and super nutrition, flock health was reestablished. In 30 years with animals, this is the only major illness I have ever had. It was so very scary and painful to watch.

4. keyt1969

keyt1969 Chillin' With My Peeps