Process at 6 weeks 5 days or 8 weeks 2 days

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by mainemomof2, May 23, 2010.

1. mainemomof2

mainemomof2 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 1, 2010
    Hello,
    This is my first year with meat birds. I was given two possible days by the processor. They could do it when the birds are 6 weeks 5 days old or when they are 8 weeks 2 days old.

We have 25 Cornish rocks.

Any thoughts or advice?

Thanks!

2. augustmomx2

augustmomx2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 31, 2008
    Central Indiana
    I had mine processsed at exactly 8 weeks. Out of 15, I had 13 make it to processing. One was a small female, whom I am sure was smothered by the other chickens and the 2nd died a few days before butchering, of a heart attack, it had been struggling for awhile. I would definitely suggest the 8wk 2 day, if you are looking for a larger chicken. Mine dressed out between 4.5lbs and 7.75lbs, very large, delish chickens [​IMG] Thinking back to mine around 6wks, there is definitely a difference in weight. Good Luck [​IMG]

3. schmism

schmism Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 16, 2007
    Peoria IL
    Last edited: May 23, 2010
  4. nivtup

nivtup Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2008
    Shelton Washington
    8 weeks 2 days

[​IMG]

5. CARS

CARS Chillin' With My Peeps

I vote for the 8 weeks too, but I also feed a family of 5 with one bird. This year I am trying to hold out for 10 weeks to get some small turkey sized birds (the kids are all teens and can eat more than in years past [​IMG] )

6. blueskylen

blueskylen Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 3, 2008
    WV
    you would probably be happier with the results at 8 weeks - they gain pretty good the last couple of weeks, just be careful with the feed - i cut mine back to about 10 hours feed - 14 hours none.
    Good Luck!

7. 4-H chicken mom

4-H chicken mom Overrun With Chickens

Aug 3, 2007
    Oberlin, OH
    Ditto on the eight weeks. If it is getting hot just put a fan on them. [​IMG]

8. CARS