Processed older hens and one roo, very dry need some advice...PLEASE!!

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by honeydoll, Jul 19, 2010.

1. honeydoll

honeydoll Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2009
    Stark County, NE Ohio
    I processed some of my older hens and roo a couple weeks ago. I soaked them in salt water for two days. Kept water very cold in cooler. THis is what I was told to do. I cooked one up, very slow method, with lots of chicken broth, and made chicken and dumplings. Anyway, my chicken tasted ok and wasn't tough at all but it was still pretty dry. Not sure how to prevent this. I think I may not have added enough salt in the soak. Could this do it? Any help would be appreciated. Not sure how to avoid the dry factor with older birds. This is my first time I processed older than 14 wks. They were all 1 year almost to the date. How much salt should be in my soak, how long should they soak? THanks in advance.

2. Tdub4chiks

Tdub4chiks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 8, 2010
    Constantia, NY
    I've always heard that salt dries things out. People use it to dry poison ivy on their skin. But, that's just what I've heard.

3. itsachicken

itsachicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 17, 2010
    St. Louis
    When I brine chickens I use 1 cup non iodized salt and 1 cup of sugar in a gallon of water. I've never cooked an older chicken this way, but since I started using the brine, I've never had a chicken dry out in the smoker.

4. cubalaya

cubalaya Overrun With Chickens

Nov 19, 2008
    central virginia
    after soaking, freeze for a day or two.

5. honeydoll

Jul 14, 2009
    Stark County, NE Ohio