Processing today!!! first timer tips?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by ticks, Apr 4, 2009.

1. ticks

ticks Pheasant Obsessed

Apr 1, 2008
    The Sticks, Vermont
    This is my first attempt at processing, we are doing 2 ducks and a rooster (all 3 are evil)

We are dry plucking them, which will take a while.

Any tips/advice for a first timer?

Thanks.

2. Pollo Posada

Pollo Posada Out Of The Brooder

Mar 25, 2009
    Mount Airy, MD
    Good luck! You are braver than I am. Never done it, let us all know how it goes! I am too CHICKEN to do it myself!

3. cassie

cassie Overrun With Chickens

Mar 19, 2009
    Make sure you get a good scald on them, otherwise the feathers are very difficult to remove. The book says about 145 degrees. You should be able to dip your finger in without getting burned, but not be able to keep it in for over a second or so without getting burned. It is helpful to put a few drops of liquid detergent in the water. Dunk for a minute or two. The object is to dunk them long enough to loosen the feathers but not so long as to cook the skin.

If I were you I would go onto www.themodernhomestead.us/article/Butchering-Plucking.html. We have some Cornish about ready to be processed, and since everyone else seems to have other obligations I think I am going to end up doing it all by myself. Good luck and I will be thinking about you.

4. ohiofarmgirl

ohiofarmgirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 22, 2009
    good luck! remember that this is a task... try not to get overwhelmed. we had rooster day a couple weeks ago and aside from the initial... um... dispatch the whole thing is very very interesting. that was our 3rd time dressing our poulty

a few tips:

* make sure the water temp is appropriate for the bird - this makes the plucking easier...and its ok to dip again once you get started
    * have all of your tools ready including your water source - we found it takes more water than you think