Progress on my first coop build

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by tbakko, Aug 13, 2013.

1. tbakko

tbakko Out Of The Brooder

Aug 6, 2013
    Boise, Idaho
    My first attempt at building a functional chicken coop [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    The girls front door

[​IMG]
    There will be an access door here in the back

[​IMG]
    Nesting boxes are 15"W x 15"L x 18"H

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    The roost with a vinyl tile floor

[​IMG]
    Clean out trap door

As I said, this is my first build, I had no plans to go by other than what I had in my head (that's a scary thought). I would appreciate any advice and ideas from those of you that know what they are doing.

2. fiddlebanshee

fiddlebanshee Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2010
    Frederick, MD
    Nice coop! Just one question. Why do you have the shelf under the roosts at an angle? If you made it horizontal you could put pdz or sand on it and make cleaning so much easier.

3. tbakko

Aug 6, 2013
    Boise, Idaho
    I thought if I put it at an angle then the chickens wouldn't roost on it and I made it so I can just lift it out to clean, was my thinking wrong?

4. fiddlebanshee

fiddlebanshee Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2010
    Frederick, MD
    i doubt the chickens would roost on it. They prefer the highest spots. What you have is not wrong, but for me having a horizontal surface with pdz has completely made my life so much easier. I scoop every other day under the roosts for 5 minutes max and the majority of the poo is gone out of the coop. No need to scrub and no smells whatsoever.

5. AZBootsie

AZBootsie Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2010
    Congress, AZ
    My Coop
    [​IMG] Fantastic Job!! It is adorable!! I am envious of your carpentry skills.