1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Prolapse!Please Help !!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by MrsMax, Aug 9, 2013.

1. MrsMax

MrsMax Out Of The Brooder

Jun 16, 2013
    Hello everyone, newbie here!

This is my first time having a flock of chickens. Yesterday morning , I noticed my New Hampshire hen had "dirty bottom" so further inspected and it was a prolapse without a doubt!....Her vent was not as red as I've seen with other prolapse cases , nonetheless it was protruding out and pulsing . I quickly cleaned her up and used running water to clean the area .After that I dried her up and as per my online research on other poultry forums , I used Preparation H on the prolapse.The good thing was that I isolated her before the other chickens would start pecking at her. I called vets in my local area and no one here does chickens!!! Frustrating, right? I would think living in a country town , you would find a vet specializing in livestock animals!... Any further advice?, id greatly appreciate it !

Last edited: Aug 9, 2013
  2. ten chicks

ten chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2013
    MB,Canada
    You are doing the correct treatment. Here is a link explaining prolapsed vent and treatment.

http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2012/04/prolapse-vent-causes-treatment-graphic.html

3. MrsMax

Jun 16, 2013
    @ten chicks; thank you for the link and your response . So far I can say that the prolapse seems less inflamed than yesterday when I discovered it ! it isn't pulsing as much and its "trying" to stay in ! thinking of getting her some yogurt to get some good bacteria in her system !Really don't want to lose her !

4. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013