prolapsed damaged vent blood egg inside crack the egg? PAIN?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by newbiechickenowner, May 13, 2010.

1. newbiechickenowner

newbiechickenowner Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 28, 2009
    Georgia, VT
    OK...so my hen is prolapsed and I am treating that since last night...separation in the coop, antibiotics, honey, cleansing, push it back in (though it comes right back out), etc, but, now, when I pushed it back in this morning (and still came right back out), I belive (I am a novice) that I can feel a hard egg way inside of her....if that comes out....won't that be really bad? Should I reach in and try to break it? Or just leave it and let nature takes its course and continue with the honey, sugar, cleansing, etc? Also, this morning, when I went to touch it she jumped. Yesterday, she seemed completely unbothered by it...today..>I am wondering...can she feel the pain? will they squack if in pain? She seems OK..... but, I don't want her to suffer either. How do you all judge the pain signals? what are they? should I crush the egg inside? Thanks!

2. newbiechickenowner

Oct 28, 2009
    Georgia, VT
    OH and yesterday when I was feeling around inside after pushing and holding it in....I did NOT feel this "egg".

3. gettinaclue

gettinaclue Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2009
    Virginia
    I don't know. I'm new to chickens, but I hope this bump will get some one who knows something to help you. Good Luck.

4. newbiechickenowner

Oct 28, 2009
    Georgia, VT
    oohhh....the poor thing laid her egg....still prolapsed...not worse though. Gosh that has to hurt!

5. dawnchick

dawnchick Out Of The Brooder

May 13, 2010