Prolapsed Oviduct - 2 Hens, 1 Day Apart

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by gotweim, Jan 25, 2011.

1. gotweim

gotweim Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 25, 2011
    Romeo, MI
    HI Everyone~

This is my first time posting and I feel bad it's on the ER list but I do need some help/advice!

I had a hen pass away this morning from a prolapsed oviduct. This was the first time I had dealt with this and noticed it way too late and we lost her this morning. (RIP - Buttercup! We'll Miss You!! [​IMG] )

When I found her yesterday she was standing outside of the hen house not moving an inch with her head tucked in. She wouldn't go in the hen house because the other hens were pecking at her. I brought her in our garage and tried cleaning her up and applying Preparation H. Things looked tiny bit better this morning but when I went out to get my daughter off the bus I found that she had passed away.

Now I am completely paranoid and I checked everyone else's bottoms this morning! I found one of our Rhode Island Red's looked to be prolapsing as well. This looked no where as bad at Buttercup, just looked like a little hemorrhoid sticking out. I had read a ton of information yesterday and it had said to just gently fold it back in and that it should stay in. I tried and it didn't. I applied some Preparation H to her as well and just went back out to check on her and it looked worse than it did this morning but still not as bad as Buttercup.

I have now brought her in the garage to keep the other's from pecking her and I'm optimistic with her because she is still acting perfectly fine.

What is going on that this could have happened to 2 of my hens at the same time? Am I doing something wrong?

They are all 7 months old and began laying around 20-24 weeks. I feed them Purina Layena Pellets and mix in Granite and Oyster Shell. They also get our table scrapes but never any meat. None of them are heavy by any means and their eggs aren't overly large.