pros and cons of wormer ?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by jessaw1981, Aug 21, 2010.

1. jessaw1981

jessaw1981 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2010
    Franklin Nc
    I am a little new at chickens and wanted to work mine. I haven't seen any but don't mean they don't have them right ? So I was wondering what are the pros and cons of all the workers ? I was going to use iveamec but does it kill them all ? and also when I found it in ts it was like 64.00 am I looking at the wronge one ? Also anyone seen a single use syringe of iveamec I have seen it in other things. what other thing will this one kill ?
    Thanks so much for all your help.

2. rcentner

rcentner Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 6, 2009
    Le Roy, NY
    wazine is cheap and easy, but only kills the adult worms and you should dispose of eggs for 2 weeks ( I eat them, but to each his own)
    Ivermectin (Ivomec, eprinex) is expensive, but works on more than just worms. There is no egg throw away with ivomec. A bottle should last a while though.
    both mentioned above do not work for all worms, tapeworms need to be treated with fenbendazole/panacur. I think that is less common than the other worms and some people treat for them and some don't.

It may be worth the money (If you have it) for the ivomec (ivermectin).

3. jeremy

jeremy CA Royal Blues

Mar 23, 2008
    Oakland, CA
    How do you know if your chickens have worms? Should you routinely worm them regardless?
    (Not meaning to hijack the thread, just expanding on the OP original thought... [​IMG])

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2010
  4. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida