Pros/Cons: Eastern Wild x Standard Bronze

Amos-Moses

Songster
Nov 14, 2017
Alabama
Added 2 Eastern Wild hens to my rafter yesterday. I previously thought that my tom was an Eastern Wild, but after seeing these hens and searching online I now think that he is a Standard Bronze or maybe a Merriam (the guy I bought him from claimed that he was a ‘wild’ turkey, so I assumed Eastern Wild).

Question is: if my tom breeds with these Eastern Wild hens, will the offspring be less valuable than purebreds? Or will the hardiness of the EW improve the SB traits?

What are the pros/cons of crossbreading Eastern Wild with Standard Bronze?

Anybody have any thoughts on this?

The Eastern Wild hens are still quarantined out of reach from my other birds, and I would consider trading them for Standard Bronze hens before my tom ever has access to them if cross-breeding has more cons than pros...

Personally I think a crossbreed would be an improvement (but again I have VERY LITTLE experience with raising turkeys, and NO experience with breeding them). It seems like adding more Eastern Wild genes to the Standard Bronze would make them a better free-range bird (cheaper to feed), more disease resistant, and hardier overall. I am sure the offspring would lose some size potential, but that is the only negative I can think of. Also, I wanted to see if the hens would sit their own eggs through incubation/hatching, and I assume that Eastern Wilds would have greater residual maternal instinct and thus be broodier.

If I were planning to keep all of the offspring then I wouldn't hesitate to cross breed these birds. But I plan to sell the offspring, and my worry is that a 'mutt' would be less valuable/harder to sell.

Any opinions &/or expertise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Anybody have any thoughts on this?