Protein Filled Treats????

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by chickie<3, Jul 10, 2010.

1. chickie<3

chickie<3 Chirping

Jul 6, 2010
    Long Island, NY
    I'm NEW to all this...My pullets are 5 weeks old. They started with chick starter and are now on developer until they start laying...then i'm told to give them layer food...I'm reading a lot on here about giving lots of protien because they are growing...i'm sure the developer has the right amount of protein but i'd like to give them more...what kind of treats can I give them that they would like that are high in protein ?

2. redhen

redhen Kiss My Grits... Premium Member

May 19, 2008
    Western MA
    Scrambled or boiled eggs.
    Meal worms..

3. chickie<3

chickie<3 Chirping

Jul 6, 2010
    Long Island, NY
    Thanks!!!!!!!!!do I Put It In Their Feeder Or Just Throw It In Their Run Or Coop?

4. fldiver97

fldiver97 Songster

Aug 5, 2009
    Middleton, WI
    At that age I started giving little bits of plain yogurt, cottage cheese, scrambled or chopped up hard boiled eggs, cooked pasta, waxworms, mealworms as treats. Also some dry or cooked oatmeal. All just as treats and also they had grit available. Initially they were suspicious about some of the 'new' food except the worms and the cooked spaghetti - instant hit and amusing to watch them eat those. I then added other stuff, some greens, let them scratch for bugs, tried bananas ( they still don't like them). If you feed them grower feed they should get what they need but they love some of the the treats, eating grass, greens and bugs is natural

5. SmittenChicken

SmittenChicken Songster

Apr 23, 2010
    Mine really love meat and dairy products - you can give them sour milk, plain yogurt, cheese (but not the processed stuff!) and also things like wet cat food and leftover table scraps. Mine go crazy when I give them leftover salmon, beef, anything like that. They're like little velociraptors!