Protein

Discussion in 'Quail' started by havensteinjohn, Oct 17, 2013.

1. havensteinjohn

havensteinjohn Out Of The Brooder

Sep 4, 2013
    Kansas
    Basically all I have in my area available for quail feed is Purina Flock Raiser:
    http://www.tractorsupply.com/en/store/purinareg;-flock-raiserreg;-sunfreshreg;-recipe-crumble-50-lb

It is only 20% protein. The other Farm store in town has some stuff that is 22% protein, but it is a little bit more expensive and a smaller quantity.

What can I add to their diet to increase protein? I have heard of hard boiling eggs, is there anything else that works? How much egg per day per bird? Anything to push me in the right direction would be appreciated. They seem to be doing fine on the 20% protein stuff, but I am a newbie and don't know for sure.

2. havensteinjohn

Sep 4, 2013
    Kansas
    The breed I am raising in Cortunix

3. havensteinjohn

Sep 4, 2013
    Kansas
  4. zbraswell92

zbraswell92 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 6, 2011
    Roswell, Ga
    I've just ordered some organic feather meal from Amazon.com.
    It's 80% protein, easily digestible, and has a complete amino acid range.
    Flock Raiser is vegetarian and quail crave animal protein!
    I would either add fishmeal, bloodmeal, feathermeal or a combination of them to their feed.
    It's very healthy for them!

5. zbraswell92

zbraswell92 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 6, 2011
    Roswell, Ga
  6. Quailsong

Quailsong Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 20, 2013
    Call me picky, but I personally wouldn't use any of those from unknown sources. Better to farm your own sources or get from a local source you trust. There's metal toxins, antibiotics, & disease to consider when buying some or all of these. Esp mass-produced brands that care more about quantity than quality.