Protien, Growth and Leg Issues

WrenAli

Songster
11 Years
May 4, 2008
Lebanon, OR
Just getting ready to process my first batch and I had some questions about feeding for future batches.

I fed my chicks on the following schedule:
first 4 weeks - 20% non-medicated starter
week 5 - 16% grower
week 6 & 7 - Ran out of grower and couldn't find any more so they go switched to a 21% Meat Bird until I picked up another bag of grower and mixed them.

They are huge, at least in my perspective, I am new at this.

What I was wondering a few things.
How does higher or lower protein affect the legs? I know this is a weakness in these birds.

Also how does the protein affect the growth of these birds? The meat bird feed is terribly expensive vs the grower or even the starter. Would I do better to keep the on the starter the entire 7 or 8 weeks even though it says 4 weeks for broilers?

The last question is if I tractor my birds can I expect to see a reduction in the amount of bagged feed they eat?

Cheers!
Ali

Quote:
I've never used a grower and have never seen that recommended. Generally broilers are given the meat bird starter/finisher which is what they consume their entire (brief) life.

Quote:
I've never found anything conclusive regarding protein and the leg problems. The only thing I've found are references to calcium being important and that the general broiler/chicken ration is too low for the modern jumbo's. So, I usually toss some bone meal in the food for my meat birds.

Quote:
Broiler feed should be cheaper than chick starter and that's why I recommend and use broiler ration from start to finish.

Quote:
According to Joe Salatin, his birds eat 1/3 less because they're in tractors. I simply cannot believe it's that much, though. If they're truly tractored, I'd maybe honestly expect a 5-10% savings at most. They don't have the right digestive systems to consume grass and get nutrition out of it like he suggests.

Greyfields -