Pullet losing feathers under her wattles

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by FlappyFeathers, Feb 11, 2019.

1. FlappyFeathers

FlappyFeathers Free Ranging

Feb 5, 2018
    Northwest Oregon
    My Coop
    Not an emergency, but I don't know if I should be concerned. Well I am concerned, I just don't want her to be hurting or unhealthy and wonder what's causing it. She's a 10½ month old Blue Wyandotte.

The only thing I think it could be from is chafing from the feeders, which are made of PVC pipes and they have to reach a ways inside. Could that be pulling her feathers off? I've been using this type of feeder for almost 3 years and it doesn't seem to affect any other chickens and the opening is smooth. It doesn't seem like a natural molt and I haven't seen noticeable pecking from other birds, especially in that odd spot. Thoughts?

20190211_123957.jpg

20190211_124230.jpg
    20190211_124517.jpg
    20190211_153336.jpg

Chick-N-Fun likes this.
  2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    In addition to the missing feathers, I notice that many of her neck feathers are broken. Given that she is growing/has pin feathers I sort of doubt that someone is feather plucking her - although that may be happening. Perhaps she is somehow breaking them off on the feeder ? Other than the broken and missing feathers she appears to be in fine condition. :idunno

FlappyFeathers likes this.
  3. FlappyFeathers

Feb 5, 2018
    Northwest Oregon
    My Coop
    I know, poor thing looks terrible!
    Is the skin normally always that red in that area (under the feathers)? It looks so sore, but doesn't seem swollen. I wonder if I should apply antibiotic ointment? Or Blu-Kote? I don't have any but could get some tomorrow. Or just leave it be?