Pullet not walking right

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by gknee615, Jul 4, 2016.

1. gknee615

gknee615 New Egg

May 20, 2016
    I'm new at raising chickens and am looking for some suggestions on what could possibly be wrong with my (maybe four week old) pullet as well as possible treatments for her. She doesn't seem to want to walk and when she does walk, her steps are very short in comparison with the other chicks'. She will walk a few steps then sit down. Additionally, she seems to be very slightly knock-kneed. She doesn't seem unhealthy beyond this and is eating well. She does, however, sit when she eats. I don't think this is something that just popped up today, but rather just became severe enough that I noticed it. Prior to today, she seemed normal, but I had noticed she was always the last one to do anything -- chase a bug, run after the others etc. It seemed like she was consciously deciding if she wanted to participate. Now, I think it might have been this walking thing working on her. Any suggestions?

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2016
  3. gknee615

gknee615 New Egg

May 20, 2016
    Thanks for the sites and the information! If she has this it certainly isn't as severe as what is pictured (thankfully). As you mentioned though, it can get worse as they get older. She isn't a broiler but is a Silver-Laced Wyandotte. Is this something that the breed is prone to? I read something about the addition of B vitamins being helpful with leg issues. I am administering an electrolyte/vitamin supplement in the water as of yesterday. This morning she seemed pretty perky, but maybe it's wishful thinking. Her gait doesn't seem to be any different.

4. Eggcessive

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio