1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Pullet or Cockerel? New Picture Added!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Coastal-Chick, Jan 30, 2012.

1. Coastal-Chick

Coastal-Chick New Egg

Jan 30, 2012
    I am new to chickens, and raised these four from chicks. Early on I suspected the Barred Rock was a rooster, but was keeping my fingers crossed. However, he is lighter in color, his tail feathers are getting droopy, and I have seen him trying to crow. Lately someone has been making noise (not exactly a cock-a-doodle-doo) around 6:20 am. Since I have neighbors close by, I can't keep a rooster. I had the chance to re-home the Barred Rock yesterday, so I did. (UGH) The kicker is that today at 6:20, someone else made some loud noises! I need help with 1) confirming the Barred Rock is a rooster and 2) do any of the others look like roosters, or could they just be making "wake up & let me out of the coop" noises? Please give your input on the following: Barred Rock (Caramel), Buff Orpington (Milk), Dark Easter Egger (Chili), and Lighter Easter Egger (Clover). Thanks so much!

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 30, 2012
  2. jenesis536

jenesis536 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 3, 2010
    CA
    The barred was definitely a rooster. The orpington looks like it, too. Can you get a better shot of the whole bird? Your ee's are really pretty and look just like my EE hen.

3. Coastal-Chick

Coastal-Chick New Egg

Jan 30, 2012
    Oh no, not Milk too! This shot is blurry, but shows her body better. Thank you!

[​IMG]

4. aoxa

aoxa Overrun With Chickens

I can only say with assurance that your barred rock is a boy. The rest all look like pullets to me. Even that BO.

5. smarsh

smarsh Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2009
    lexington, KY

x2

6. hdowden