1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Pullet or cockerel?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Peanutsmom, Apr 1, 2012.

1. Peanutsmom

Peanutsmom Out Of The Brooder

Apr 1, 2012
    So Cal
    [​IMG]Hello

I am new to owning chickens. These are my first chickens and I am raising them as pets and to have eggs for eating. I am hoping that they are all pullets but I do have my doubts about my BR. Currently I call "her" Sarah. They are almost 8 weeks old this week. I haven't heard any crowing yet. Though Sarah does have a darker pinkish comb and is already developing a waddle. Sarah also has bitten me a few times though they are all pretty friendly. My RIR is very friendly with me and my americana runs but is friendly. I am pretty sure my RIR and Americana are pullets though since I am a chicken newbie I could be wrong but I really have serious doubts that Sarah is a pullet.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Last edited: Apr 1, 2012
  2. allmychickens

allmychickens Just'a small town girl

Aug 4, 2011
    Washington
    Sarah is a Dominique first of all(hence the rose comb)... I am leaning towards roo but still hen possibly
    dominique:
    http://www.feathersite.com/Poultry/CGD/Doms/BRKDoms.html
    Barred Rock:
    http://www.feathersite.com/Poultry/CGP/Rocks/BRKRocks.html

The Red one isnt an RIR... looks like Production red or Sex- Link... and maybe cockeral
    Sex link:
    http://www.feathersite.com/Poultry/CGP/Sex-links/BRKSexLink.html
    Production red:
    http://www.purelypoultry.com/production-red-chickens-p-393.html

Black and white is not an americauna... looks like delaware or brahma... and a pullet
    delaware:
    http://www.feathersite.com/Poultry/CGD/Dels/BRKDelawares.html
    Brahma: