Pullet or Roo????

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by jayharris, Apr 13, 2012.

1. jayharris

jayharris New Egg

Apr 13, 2012
    I am new to the chicken world and got two baby chicks because I would like fresh eggs. I was/am hoping that I got 2 hens but have no idea. I believe I have a Rhode Island Red and a Barred Rock but am not even sure of that. Any help on what sex and breed would be awsome. Thanks!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. PsychoChickens

PsychoChickens Out Of The Brooder

Apr 11, 2012
    Mid Missouri
    If the black one is a barred rock the white spot on the back of it's head shows it to be female, thou it could be a male black sex link also.
    With the RIRs you'll have to wait and see.

Barred Rocks and Cuckoo Marans - Males have wider white barring. They will often appear more silvery-grey than black. The males usually have a much larger, splotchier headspot.

Rhode Island Reds - By 5 weeks males have larger and thicker legs and a larger (pinkening) comb and wattle area.

Hope this helps

Last edited: Apr 13, 2012
    1 person likes this.
  3. BlueCamas

BlueCamas Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2011
    Milwaukie, Oregon
    I'd say you have a Barred Rock and maybe a production red?

4. jayharris

jayharris New Egg

Apr 13, 2012
    How would I tell the difference between a barred rock and a male black sex link chick???

5. PsychoChickens

Apr 11, 2012
    Mid Missouri
    Waiting until they start to feather, the barred rocks will have black and white stripes and the BSL will stay black.
    The black sex links the males have the lil white spot on the back of it's head, where the barred rocks the females have said spot.
    I'd call the store and ask if they sell the BR or the BSL. The BSL are more common for high production. the BSL are also called Black Star chickens in case you didn't know.

1 person likes this.
  6. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member