Pullets 7 weeks & 16 weeks

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by ShanasCastle, Aug 15, 2018.

1. ShanasCastle

ShanasCastle Chirping

Aug 8, 2018
    Hey everyone!

Here are my babies, all purchased locally. The babies were bought from 3 kids who raised them for a school project. They claimed the chicks are barred rocks. Not so sure. The older girls are 1) Wyandotte 2) leghorn?

I'm new to this and I would just like to be sure of what I have and appreciate all of your experience and insight. Thank you for allowing me to be apart of your community!

P. S. Could use advise on overcoming my fear of holding them. The leghorn allows me to pet her, the other one is shy & runs from me. The babies were first & they screamed when I picked them up so it freaked me out! I thought I was hurting them. Hahaha YOU would've too had you heard that squeal. "We" are learning about one another together. The older ones were stuck in an overcrowded coop but the babies were held a lot! My husband (grew up on farm) says that my birds are happy & like me more than him so I'm "a good mother hen"!

Attached Files:

drumstick diva and Alexandra33 like this.
  2. Frazzemrat1

Frazzemrat1 Crowing

May 8, 2017
    Eastern Connecticut
    You are correct, I don't see barred rocks at all in there. At this point, I'd say you have mixed breeds. The brown one, does it have a crest? not a comb, but a crest?

as for picking them up... you don't have to. Mine aren't much for it, so I don't typically pick them up. When I need to, I just make sure I'm firm but gentle. They may struggle, and when it seems like they're struggling very hard, I just let them go. Better to let them go and start over, than to injure the bird through their struggling.

3. ShanasCastle

ShanasCastle Chirping

Aug 8, 2018
    Not sure about a "crest" but he/she has a slip of hair kind of like a blue jay. Is that what you mean?

Thanks! Phew, thought I was a bad Mom bc they didn't want that hands on attention.